From tiny beginnings to oceans I discovered the world in words

  He’ll start with faltering steps, but should he fall,

  she’ll catch him with her many bangled wrist.

  He looks and smiles to hear his Daddy call,

  he starts with faltering steps, but he won’t fall,

  he’ll go steady, walk like his brother, tall,

  he’ll be everything his parents ever wished.

  he’ll start with faltering steps, but should he fall,

 she’ll catch him with her many bangled wrist.

 

  Elaine Morris (c) 2014

 

Comments on: "One Step at a Time (Triolet)" (3)

  1. This is fabulous Elaine. It could have been written for our latest addition to the family!

    Ive never tried a triolet but I think I will have a go. I go to a writing class every week and last week’s task was to write a poem about a mirror with certain points to cover in the poem. I pushed the boat out and wrote my very first sonhet, something I thought I would never be able to do.

    I will copy your triolet and keep it as a reference if that’s ok with you. It’s good to have something to refer to when youre learning. I will read your poem to our daughter who has Theo, 3 and Solomon 10 months; she will love it!

  2. Thank you Christine, I to go to a writing group of two. It is good to bounce things off other writers..

  3. Our grand-daughter fits this theme. She is not quite yet there, but soon. Maybe before she reaches her first year this month. 🙂

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

