From tiny beginnings to oceans I discovered the world in words

27 days into October

Watching my silver birch shed it’s yellow leaves got me thinking about the graceful twirls and turns of each leaf as it makes it’s release now summer is over. I too am trying to let go of summer gracefully and cosying up to rest awhile.

after the last waltz
dancers leave the summer ball
pirouette to rest

(haibun)
Elaine Patricia Morris
(c) October 2016

Comments on: "27 days into October" (13)

  1. Rising Hawk said:

    Wonderful haibun – splendid imagery 🙂

  2. Very nice dance motif in the haiburn.

  3. A lovely haibun, Elaine. 🙂

  4. neat! I like your attitude as well – trying not to hold on to summer…

  5. This reminds me of a few weeks ago when I saw yellow leaves twirling down…and one –
    was a yellow moth or butterfly that flew away…

  6. Some of our ‘cabbage’ butterflies are white, some are yellow.
    Could have been this fellow:
    https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Eurema_hecabe

  7. I’ll be thinking of your verse as our willow tree’s leaves fall. Beautiful Elaine!

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

