From tiny beginnings to oceans I discovered the world in words

Nat. Haiku Writing Month

Nahaiwrimo  2015.

Day 1… prompt … now.

Over snow topped hills!

late afternoon sun now spreads

her pale pink apron.

……………………………

Day 2 … prompt … noisily.

Noisily honking

whoopers overwintering

here at Martin Mere.

…………………………..

Day 3 … prompt … nervously.

Waiting patiently

beech leaves shiver nervously

in the winter winds.

………………………….

Day 4 … prompt … nakedly.

Winter beach, naked,

silver now the tide has left,

seashells in the sun.

…………………………….

Day 5 … prompt … nonstop.

The nonstop people

miss today whilst rushing on

towards tomorrow.

…………………………

Day 6 … prompt … nonchalantly.

Andrew is my son.

He arrived nonchalantly

to feed the chickens.

……………………………

Day 7 … prompt … nearest.

The soul of the earth

is nearest when the snowdrops

push through frozen soil.

……………………………………….

Elaine Morris (c)  February 2015.

Comments on: "Nat. Haiku Writing Month" (4)

  1. Wow! I didn’t even know it was National Haiku writing month.
    Where are you getting the prompt words?
    Though I think I’ll be awhile with IK… though not all of the ‘sentences’ are applicable to me.
    And I might get tired of it after a long while. But for now I am enjoying myself.

    Keep going and you’ll have a wonderful chap book to create for you and your family.

    I know there are programs out there to create chapbooks yourself, though I haven’t found them…(or even just programs to put two poems on a page the opposite way so you can create your own book) but then I haven’t really looked.

    It is hard to pick a favorite because they all are nicely packaged little pieces.

    Hugs, Jules

  2. I enjoy reading your haiku! I’m currently looking for guest haiku writers at purehaiku.wordpress.com if you’re interested!

  3. Thanks for stopping by Daphne and Polly. Freya I looked at pure haiku and couldn’t decide how to submit.

  4. Jules, go to NaHaiWriMo prompts etc are there and some other helpful stuff. I hope to make my haiku writing better at some time in the future. What is a chap book. Not a term I have heard before. After being inspired by you I bought a copy of instant Karma on kindle. Thank you.

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

