From tiny beginnings to oceans I discovered the world in words

Insecurity.

Why does my mind wander,
where to, where from.
Why can’t I anchor it,
peg it down, fasten it,
as I secure laundry on the line.
How does confidence just up and leave
me, blowing on the breeze alone.
Emotions change like wind direction
and leave me flapping aimlessly.
Where is the peg that holds all this in control.
Is it my mind, my heart, my brain,
or is it the core of my being.
Unseen, unheard and rarely spoken of.

Elaine Morris (c) 2014.

Comments on: "Insecurity." (14)

  1. “How does confidence just up and leave”. A question I sometimes ask myself. I relate to this poem and feel Im flapping aimlessly at times.

  2. I think most of us find ourselves there sometimes, Christine. Thanks for reading.

  3. Yes, I think you’re right elaine

  4. Thanks for stopping by Daphne.

  5. Agree previous comments—you put it so well, Elaine.

  6. Thanks for dropping in Polly.

  7. John Ashton said:

    Oh I know that feeling only too well Elaine. Wobbles in confidence happen with an unwanted frequency.

  8. Well John how wonderful to find you have been here. Do you have a wordpress page?

  9. John Ashton said:

    Hi Elaine, I don’t have a blog of my own but I pop by and look at yours from time to time.
    Glad to see you are still writing.

    • Hope you too are still writing. Sorry we have lost touch.
      Prompts and grandchildren, life and all that.

      Wishing you the best.

      • John Ashton said:

        Good to hear from you too Jules. Still writing, or trying to. Life is quite hectic, busy at work and granchildren too, three now and another expected next March. My very best wishes to you.

  10. Definitelý still writing. Had some publications and done some readings. Thanks for your interest.

  11. You are just creative!

  12. Thanks for stopping by Libby

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

